How to reduce ambiguity

💠 Components and patterns • 📚 Versioning • 📖 Documentation

Hi there 👋 

Last week, I wrote about the key principles of a good design file. Today, I’m going to further explore one of these principles through the notion of ambiguity.

In my career, I worked both as a designer handing over mockups to developers and as a developer coding other designers’ mockups. I used Figma, Sketch, inVision, XD, Photoshop, and others.

Our tools get better and better. They evolve, adapt, and improve. They also come and go. Your current stack is not forever. Soon, the industry standard may likely change again.

But one thing that doesn’t change is the basic philosophy of how to use such tools effectively. No matter how smart our tools become, they won’t free us from using our common sense, from critical thinking, and empathy to others.

Through all the years of working with developers, I’ve never heard one praising a designer for using a new feature. But many times, I’ve seen a developer being excited and grateful for simply being mindful and clear.

Let’s take a look at the three critical areas where this matters most.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Decoding Design to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now