Should designers name their layers?

The dos and don’ts of keeping your designs well-maintained

Hello there 👋 

Time flies! I just realized it’s already the sixth issue of this newsletter. A warm welcome to everyone who recently joined ❤️ If you’d like to read some of the past issues, remember that you can always access them at https://decodingdesign.beehiiv.com/

In these first issues, I primarily wrote about design tools. Enough of that for now. From now on, I’m going to start slowly shifting focus toward more technical subjects, which means more hands-on examples, more practical knowledge, and more code.

If you don’t have any coding experience, don’t worry. I will try to make each subject approachable for any skill level. However, for the sake of brevity, I won’t always explain every term and concept I mention. If you start to feel lost, just hit the Reply button and let me know. I’ll do my best to help, and for popular concerns, I will tackle them in the following issues.

But before we get there, let’s try to answer one more vital question: should designers name their layers?!

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Decoding Design to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now